Alabama’s Fouts Wins 2023 Softball Honda Sport Award

19 hours in the past
Alabama Athletics

Photograph: Alabama Athletics

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – For the primary time in program historical past, an Alabama softball participant has gained the Honda Sport Award as Montana Fouts was named this 12 months’s softball recipient from the Collegiate Girls’s Sports activities Awards.

The Honda Sport Award has been introduced yearly by the CWSA for the previous 47 years to the highest girls athletes throughout 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports activities, signifying “the perfect of the perfect” in faculty athletics. The winners of this 12 months’s sport awards turn into finalists for the Collegiate Girl Athlete of the Yr and the distinguished 2023 Honda Cup, which will likely be introduced dwell on CBS Sports activities Community on June 26 at 4:30 p.m. CT.

“I’m so honored to be the recipient of this 12 months’s Honda Sport Award,” Fouts mentioned. “I need to thank the committee who selected me to characterize the game of softball and specific how grateful I’m to be chosen. I actually would not be the place I’m in the present day with out my wonderful help system. I need to thank Coach Murphy and the remainder of our teaching and help workers for permitting me to dwell out my dream and creating this household for me the previous 5 years that may have a bit of my coronary heart without end. I wish to thank my household for the entire sacrifices they’ve made alongside the way in which to permit me to play the game I really like whereas being my rock. To my teammates who’ve my again on and off the sector and made me fall in love with softball yet again, they’re the actual rockstars. I’m so grateful for this platform softball has given me and I’m honored to characterize my dwelling, The College of Alabama. Giving God the entire glory, Roll Tide.”

Fouts is the ninth of 12 nominees introduced thus far this 12 months, becoming a member of Rose Zhang (Golf, Stanford) Trinity Thomas (Gymnastics, Florida), Caitlin Clark (Basketball, Iowa), Kate Douglass (Swimming and Diving, Virginia), Logan Eggleston (Texas, Volleyball), Erin Matson (Subject Hockey, North Carolina), Lilly Reale (Soccer, UCLA) and Katelyn Tuohy (Cross Nation, NC State). Honorees have but to be introduced for lacrosse, tennis and monitor and subject. The 12 nominees will likely be narrowed to a high three, with the eventual Honda Cup winner coming from that group of three.

The Honda Sport Award is the twelfth for Alabama, however its first for softball. Earlier Crimson Tide Honda Sport Award winners embody cross nation runner Mercy Chelangat (2021), gymnasts Penney Hauschild (1985-86), Dee Foster (1993), Andree Pickens (2002), Jeana Rice (2004), Ashley Miles (2006), Kayla Hoffman (2011) and Kim Jacob (2014) together with golfers Brooke Pancake (2012) and Emma Talley (2015). Jacob would go on and earn Alabama’s first Honda Cup in 2014.