Sainz wins Singapore GP as Verstappen and Crimson Bull’s streaks finish

SINGAPORE (AP) _ Carlos Sainz Jr. received the Singapore Grand Prix for Ferrari on Sunday as Max Verstappen and Crimson Bull’s historic win streaks in System One got here to an finish.

Crimson Bull had dreamed of successful each race this yr however had Verstappen fifth and Perez eighth after struggling all weekend in Singapore.

Verstappen’s successful run ended at 10 races and Crimson Bull’s at 15, together with one on the finish of final yr. Each are System One information.

Sainz began on pole place and held on with badly worn tires over tense ultimate laps for his second profession win in F1 forward of McLaren’s Lando Norris and the Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton. George Russell crashed the opposite Mercedes on the ultimate lap from third place to advertise Hamilton to the rostrum.

“I felt beneath management. I felt like I might handle effectively and we introduced it residence. That was one of the best feeling,” Sainz mentioned.

Sainz admitted after the race he had slowed down to make sure Norris keep throughout the one-second window that allowed the McLaren driver entry to the DRS straight-line pace enhance _ a priceless help in holding off the 2 Mercedes.

“We rolled the cube this weekend,” Hamilton mentioned after a Mercedes technique name noticed each automobiles cease for contemporary tires late on, that means Russell dropped again from second in pursuit of the win.

Charles Leclerc was fourth after failing to carry off the Mercedes automobiles on older tires, forward of Verstappen in fifth. The champion had an eventful race after beginning eleventh and was briefly second on observe behind Sainz, although solely as a result of virtually all different automobiles stopped for contemporary tires. After Verstappen’s personal pit cease, he fought his manner again via the sector from fifteenth.

Pierre Gasly was sixth for Alpine, Oscar Piastri seventh for McLaren after qualifying 18th and Perez eighth. Rookie Liam Lawson scored his first factors in ninth for AlphaTauri and Kevin Magnussen was tenth for Haas.