Why the enduring Le Classique derby between PSG and Marseille is a must-watch

There’s a wealthy historic significance to this fixture because the rivalry dates again to PSG’s founding in 1971. It has since developed into an intense derby which sees the capital’s membership and the pleasure of Marseille pitted towards one another.

The battle between these two influential cities shouldn’t be fought for mere victories on the soccer pitch, however for regional supremacy and cultural pleasure.

The contrasting identities of the 2 golf equipment has all the time offered a spark to their encounters. PSG have historically been related to the glitz and glamour that’s synonymous with town of Paris and their monetary prowess in recent times, which has facilitated a star-studded roster, has solely served to additional that picture.

In the meantime, Marseille boasts a legacy of French soccer’s working-class and thus takes immense pleasure in its wealthy historical past of success. This dichotomy in membership id creates a compelling narrative for each conflict.

Le Classique matches are additionally famend for the spectacle they supply. Whether or not held at Parc des Princes or the Stade Velodrome, the ambiance for this conflict is invariably electrical.

The fervour of each fan bases not solely manifest into flares, banners, and chants which might ship shivers down the backbone of all contained in the stadium, but it surely spills over into the streets as effectively and engulfs the host metropolis.

The enduring derby is among the most-watched on the planet. Its depth, contrasting identities, passionate fan bases, and international attraction make it a fixture that captures the hearts and minds of followers world wide.


All-Time File:

PSG wins – 48
Marseille wins – 34
Attracts – 23

Participant Information:

Most Appearances – Steve Mandanda [Marseille]
Prime Scorer – Zlatan Ibrahimovic [PSG]

Workforce Information:

Greatest Win: PSG 5-1 Marseille [8 January 1978]
Longest Successful Run: PSG [31 October 2012 – 21 May 2016]


GK: Steve Mandanda (Marseille)

CB: Marcel Desailly (Marseille)
CB: Thiago Silva (PSG)
CB: William Gallas (Marseille)

RM: Lionel Messi (PSG)
CM: Ronaldinho (PSG)
CM: Didier Deschamps (Marseille)
LM: Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

CAM: Neymar (PSG)

ST: Jean-Pierre Papin (Marseille)
ST: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (PSG)